A remarkable incident in Friday’s second round has not received the coverage it deserves. A hole in one is rare but what Lucas Glover achieved with his tee-shot on the 12th is even rarer.

Unbelievably, his ball landed in a spectator’s pocket. A shot like that really deserves some sort of reward, a cuddly toy perhaps or an umbrella at least. Instead, all Glover got was a free drop under Rule 19-1a, which states: “If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke other than on the putting green comes to rest in or on any moving or animate outside agency, the ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped, or on the putting green placed, as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball came to rest in or on the outside agency, but not nearer the hole.”