Anirban Lahiri’s impressive victory in Malaysia made him the fourth Indian winner on tour to date joining Arjun Atwal, Jeev Milkha Singh and SSP Chowrasia

Anirban Lahiri became the fourth Indian winner on tour on Sunday, but the 27-year-old’s rapid rise through the ranks and fairly prolific strike rate on the Asian and Indian Tours (13 career victories in total now) suggests he may prove to be the best of all the Indians to make it out on to the European Tour so far.

Lahiri, who now has a full card for the first time after graduating at Q School last year, has played 39 European Tour events so far, with his previous best finish 6th place in the 2014 Championship at Laguna in Singapore. He first came to the attention of European golf fans in the 2012 Open at Royal Lytham when he made a hole in one at the 9th in round three en route to a 31st place finish.

Sunday’s Malaysian victory moves him up to 37th in the world having remained in the Top 100 for the best part of a year. Such success at a young age suggests we may be witnessing the emergence of India’s best ever golfer, but here’s a quick recap of the other three to win on tour, and a round-up of India’s other main European Tour campaigners…

Arjun Atwal

Became the first Indian to win on the European Tour (2002 Caltex Singapore Masters) and the PGA Tour (2010 Wyndham Championship). Won twice more on the European Tour before heading for the States, but despite that PGA Tour victory has never climbed higher than 106th in the world rankings

India's first tour winner - Arjun Atwal with the 2002 Caltex Masters trophy

India’s first tour winner – Arjun Atwal with the 2002 Caltex Masters trophy

Jeev Milkha Singh

The man with the swing only a mother could love has won four times on tour between 2006 and 2012, most recently the 2012 Scottish Open where he took down Francesco Molinari on the first play-off hole. Tried his hand at the PGA Tour too for four years, with a best finish of 4th the 2009 WGC-CA Championship which took him to a career-high 29th in the world – Lahiri’s next target!