October 2016 Cover

Rory reveals all in Golf Monthly October issue

“Natural talent means nothing without hard work”

The Golf Monthly October issue is a Rory McIlroy special, featuring never-before-heard insight from the most gifted golfer the game has seen since Tiger Woods.

In our exclusive 18-page special, Neil Tappin meets the four-time Major Champion to discover what turns god-given ability into success at the highest level.

The Rory issue of Golf Monthly is available to purchase in all good newsagents and outlets from September 1st, as well as via various digital platforms – click here for a list

What’s inside…

The trip to the top – In his most revealing interview to date, the Ulsterman speaks candidly about work ethic and how people underestimate just how much time he dedicates to his pursuit of excellence. He discusses his rise to the top, his dedication to fitness and his desire to be as good as he possibly can be.

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 16.19.01

A day in the life – Rory explains how day pans out during one of his non-tournament practice weeks. From fitness and nutrition to on-course practice and range time, every element of each day is carefully regulated to maximise results. How many people get out of bed at 5.30am during an ‘off’ week?

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 16.20.47

A workout with Rory – Neil Tappin joins the Northern Irishman for a workout session and barely has the energy to stand by the end of it. His regular gym sessions include lunges, dumbbell plank rows, lateral duck walks, power rotations, deadlifts, pull-ups, planks and more. Who says golfers aren’t athletes?

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 16.20.16

Steve McGregor – We sit down with Steve McGregor – MD of Sport Science Solutions and a man with more than 20 years’ experience of working with elite sportsmen. Rory’s personal trainer explains how his knowledge and expertise has helped transform Rory into a world-class athlete, as well as discussing what the Ulsterman is like as a pupil, how hard he pushes him, how sessions change through the season and what role fitness has played in McIlroy’s success.

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 16.20.32

Your questions answered – We throw the floor open to the GM audience to give Rory a break from the endless questions on his form and his views on certain important matters within the game. Who would be like to play him in a movie of his life? Should we have gimmes in match play? How good would he be left-handed? What’s his relationship like with Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler and Jason Day?

Screen Shot 2016-08-25 at 16.21.06

To access this exclusive and in-depth content, buy a copy from all good newsagents and outlets from September 1st, or access it on your digital device.

NO_14RC_Lockup_PORT_CMYK_NEG_LiveTxtWith the Ryder Cup nearly upon us, we hear from the big names and focus on the big issues ahead of the showdown at Hazeltine. As well as a look back over the recent history of the event, we talk to Paul McGinley about his Ryder Cup highlights, chat to Davis Love III about his second crack at the captaincy, and discuss being a Ryder Cup rookie with Chris Wood.

Added to this, we take an in-depth look at the course with a free Strokesaver guide and focus on four key holes where the Cup may be won or lost. There is also a six-page preview of the event from our editor-at-large Bill Elliott as well as Paul Lawrie’s memories of the Miracle of Medinah and Wayne Riley on the upcoming tussle which, in his opinion, is the most intriguing contest in recent history.

The issue is on sale at all good newsagents from September 1st and via our usual digital platforms.

Free Strokesaver Hazeltine Course Guide

hazeltine

We’ve teamed up with Strokesaver to offer a FREE comprehensive hole-by-hole guide to the Minnesota course.

Paul McGinley on Ryder Cup captaincy

mcginley

The Irishman raised the bar at Gleneagles last time out. He tells Jeremy Ellwood about his time at the helm and looks ahead to this year’s contest.

Davis Love III opens up

david love III

The American captain reveals all about his career, Tiger’s role this year, and why he can still play with the young guns.

Ryder Cup Rookie Chris Wood

chris-wood

The Englishman says it will be a dream come true to play in the Ryder Cup this year and discusses why Europe have been so dominant in recent contests.

Where the Cup will be won and lost

hazeltine

We analyse the four key holes which we believe will be pivotal in deciding the outcome of this year’s contest.

The Miracle of Medinah

paul lawrie

GM columnist Paul Lawrie looks back on the 2012 contest, which he describes as one of the highlights of his career.