With Spieth and Kuchar battling it out at Birkdale, what is the playoff format if it ends all square?

What Is The Playoff Format At The Open 2017?

This year’s Open at Royal Birkdale is shaping up to be a two-horse race with Jordan Spieth and Matt Kuchar going head-to-head for the title.

But what will the playoff format be if it does end all-square?

If they do end tied it will go into a four-hole playoff over the 14th, 16th, 17th and 18th holes with the best aggregate score taking the title.

Related: 2017 Open Championship prize money

In the event of a further tie, sudden death will be played on the 18th hole until a winner emerges.

Continues below

The four-hole format has been the way since 1985 when the rules changed from a full 18 holes.

Before that it had been 36 holes to decide the winner up to 1964.

Related: Jordan Spieth’s incredible putting technique…Revealed!

There have been 21 Open playoffs in all with the most recent coming at St Andrews in 2015.

Zach Johnson eventually triumphed over four holes beating Louis Oosthuizen and Marc Leishman.

There has been just one playoff to decide the Claret Jug in the nine previous Opens at Royal Birkdale.

That was in 1998 when Mark O’Meara beat Brian Watts over four holes.

Don’t forget to follow Golf Monthly on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.