The FedExCup is a championship trophy for the PGA Tour.

Its introduction marked the first time that men’s professional golf had a playoff system.

It was announced in 2005 and first awarded in 2007 to Tiger Woods, the current champion is Vijay Singh who surprisingly this year hasn’t made the final 30.

The FedExCup has 4 playoff events: The Barclays, Deutsche Bank Championship, BMW Championship and The Tour Championship

The FedExCup draws to a close this week with the Tour Championship and all players within the top 30 of the FedEx Playoff point’s table will be eyeing the top prize of $10 million.

The top 30 this year include many of the big names which we all know: Tiger’s there leading the way by 250 with the reset points but you can never count out the likes of Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els and Padraig Harrington.

The overall winner will be the person who after this final tournament will have the most points and top the leaderboard and they will be the one to win the $10 Million.

However it will not be too bad for those who are the runners up: second place will get $3 million, 3rd place $2 million, 4th place $1.5 million, 5th place $1 million, and so on down to $32,000 for 144th place.

In 2008 the PGA tour announced a change to the payout system. The top 10 finishers will receive the bulk of their winnings in cash and the rest in a tax-deferred retirement account and the rest of the winners below the top 10 will have all their winnings paid into their retirement accounts.

The winner of the FedEx Cup will also receive a five-year exemption on the PGA Tour. This mirrors the exemption for the Leading Money Winner title.

With the exception of the Tour Championship, which awards a 3-year PGA Tour exemption, winners of FedExCup playoff events will receive only the standard 2-year exemption.

These are the players that reached the final event:
These are the top 30:
1.    Tiger Woods
2.    Steve Stricker
3.    Jim Furyk
4.    Zach Johnson
5.    Heath Slocum
6.    Padraig Harrington
7.    Sean O’Hair
8.    Scott Verplank
9.    Kenny Perry
10.    Jason Dufner
11.    Dustin Johnson
12.    Nick Watney
13.    Geoff Ogilvy
14.    Phil Mickelson
15.    Retief Goosen
16.    Marc Leishman
17.    Brian Gay
18.    Kevin Na
19.    David Toms
20.    Lucas Glover
21.    Yong-Eun Yang
22.    Ernie Els
23.    Hunter Mahan
24.    Angel Cabrera
25.    Steve Marino
26.    Stewart Cink
27.    Mike Weir
28.    Luke Donald
29.    Jerry Kelly
30.    John Senden