Europe’s most successful Ryder Cup captain Tony Jacklin has been handed the Honourary Award at the International Association of Golf Tour Operators Awards, which took place during this week’s International Golf Travel Market in Portugal.

The two-time major champion was a guest of honour at the gala dinner – staged at the Tivoli Marina Hotel in Villamoura – which concluded this year’s event.

Almost 13,000 representatives from 47 countries visited the Algarve for the most successful IGTM to date.

The Supplier of the Year accolade went to Onyria Resorts, with America’s Marriott Sawgrass and Morocco’s Mazagan Resort among several venues winning awards (full list below).

“IGTM provides an accurate representation of the golf travel industry’s performance and its future prospects,” said Peter Grimster, Exhibition Manager at Reed Travel Exhibitions.

“This year we have seen record numbers of scheduled appointments, and with figures increasing year on year, IGTM continues to be a platform not only to celebrate successes, but to create opportunities for future achievement with the industry.”

Peter Walton, Chief Executive of IAGTO, added: “More than 450 golf tour operators from 59 different countries cast their votes for these prestigious awards, taking into account many important factors, including customer satisfaction, quality of golf courses and accommodation, value for money a support fro the local tourism industry.

“The awards highlight the strength within the golf travel industry – celebrating successes and encouraging destinations across the world to hep their industry grow.”

Golf Destination of the Year:

– Europe – Gran Canaria
– Asia and Australasia – Vietnam
– North America – Monterey Country
– South America and Caribbean – Dominican Republic
– Africa and Middle East – Dubai

Golf Resort of the Year

– Europe – Terre Blanche Resort, France
– North America – Marriott Sawgrass, Florida
– Rest of the World – Mazagan Resort, Morocco

IAGTO Supplier of the Year:

– Onyria Resorts

IAGTO Honorary Awards

– Tony Jacklin

For more information about IGTM, visit For more information about the IAGTO Awards, visit