A is for AMATEUR. In the first decade the US Open was competed by mainly American amateurs and British professionals. In 1913 Francis Quimet, a 20-year-old amateur, won the competition after beating famous English professionals Harry Vardon and Ted Ray. He was the first amateur to take the title.

B is for BLACK RATING. This is the difficulty of tee that the players at the 2010 US Open will be hitting from. With a total yardage of 7,040, this Par-71 monster will test the very best, with some holes extended by as much as 50 yards.

C is for COVERAGE. 1954 produced the first national television coverage of the US Open championship.

D is for DOLLAR. In 1985 prize money totalled $335, by which Horace Rawlins took $150 for first prize. Last year’s Open saw purse strings of $7,500,000, with winner Lucas Glover earning $1,350,000.

E is for ELIGABILITY. Entries are open to professional golfers and amateur golfers with an up-to-date men’s handicap not exceeding 1.4. A Handicap Index must be issued from a golf club that is licensed to use the USGA Handicap System.

F is for FORMAT. The format of the competition has changed over the years. Originally the US Open was played over 36 holes in one day. In 1898 the USGA extended the championship to 72 holes over two days, with 36 each day. In 1926 the format changed to 18 holes played each of two days, then 36 on the third day. The final change to the event, the present format, came in 1965 with 72 holes being played over 4 days, 18 each day.

G is for GLOVER. American Lucas Glover won last year’s US Open to claim his second PGA Tour event. He birdied the 16th hole of the final round, helping him post a 4-under-par 276 total and a two-stroke victory over Phil Mickelson, Ricky Barnes and David Duval.

H is for HOLE-IN-ONE. There have been six holes-in-one recorded in the four US Opens previously held at Pebble Beach. These compromise of Jerry McGee (1972, 5th hole), Bobby Mitchell (1972, 5th hole), Bill Brodell (1982, 5th hole), Johnny Miller (1982, 12th hole), Tom Weiskopf (1982, 7th hole), and Todd Fischer (2000, 7th hole).

I is for INVITATION. Winners of the US Open gain invites to the next five Masters tournaments, the next five British Open championships, the next five PGA Championships and the next five Players Championships. They also get a US Open exemption for the next 10 years and an exempt status on the PGA Tour for five years.