Winners of the Open Championship at Muirfield

1929- Walter Hagan, USA, won for his fourth and final time, breaking the record on the last hole, and finishing a full six strokes ahead of his nearest rival, fellow American Johnny Farrell. This was Muirfield’s 6th championship.

1948- Henry Cotton of England secured his third win in Muirfield’s eighth championship, scoring 66 in the second round and finishing 5 shots ahead of second place.

1959- Gary Player, South Africa, won his first major trophy at Muirfield. Over the two final rounds, he beat his nearest opponent by eight and 10 shots respectively.

1966- Jack Nicklaus from the USA won by a single stroke, after getting the required birdie 4 and par 4 on the last two holes.

1972- Lee Trevino, USA, fended off challenges from Tony Jacklin and Nicklaus to win his second consecutive open that year, despite trailing third round leaders Lee Trevino and Tony Jacklin by six and five shots respectively.

1980- Tom Watson, USA, won his third open in the third round, scoring 64 to open up an unassailable gap, finishing on a total of 271, four shots ahead of second place.

1987- Nick Faldo, England, narrowly edged Paul Azinger to take home the trophy for the first time, making par on the final holes.

1992- Nick Faldo, England, won the open for the third time, and the second consecutive time at Muirfield, after being forced to play the best four holes of his life.

2002- Ernie Els triumphed, after the four-hole four-man play-off went down to Els and the Frenchman Levet. Levet missed his final putt, and Els didn’t, making him the champion.