Darren Clarke and Jeev Milkha Singh will lead the teams in Kuala Lumpur.


2016 EurAsia Cup Preview

Darren Clarke and Jeev Milka Singh will lead their respective teams at the EurAsia Cup this week, hosted by Glenmarie Golf & Country Club in Kuala Lumpur.

The tournament, which ended in a draw when it was first held in 2014, pits representatives from Europe and Asia against each other in a match play format.

Northern Irishman Clarke, who will also be captaining Europe at Hazeltine in this year’s Ryder Cup, believes the two sides are evenly matched.

He said: “We are playing in the Asian team’s back yard, so they are a bit more used to the heat and humidity than we are, which may give them a bit of an advantage.

“But with the co-sanctioned events we have in Asia, the Europeans do have experience playing here.

“So it’s too close to call and I think there’s a pretty good chance it could end in another draw.”

Two years ago the event finished 10-10 after Thongchai Jaidee’s team fought back on the final day singles.

Europe won just two of their matches on the last day, with captain Miguel Angel Jimenez and Joost Luiten providing the visitors’ points.

Singh said he will not try to impose himself too much on his team, preferring them to be relaxed ahead of the first day on Friday.

“I believe in our players,” Singh said.

“They are used to the weather. They have played in Asia many times, and they play these kinds of courses all the time.

“So I just basically have to make sure they are comfortable, happy and relaxed. When all of these things are given to him, that’s when a player plays his best.”

This year the Europeans come into the tournament with a number of 2015 European Tour winners. Andy Sullivan secured three victories, with team mates Chris Wood, Kristoffer Broberg, Danny Willett, Soren Kjeldsen, Matt Fitzpatrick, Bernd Wiesberger and Victor Dubuisson also winners last year.

Shane Lowry won the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational at Firestone Country Club, with fellow European Tour winners Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter and Ross Fisher making up the rest of Clarke’s team.

Singh’s side includes the 2015 BMW PGA Championship winner Byeong-Hun An and Anirban Lahiri, who enjoyed an impressive break out year.

Jaidee, Wu Ashun and Kiradech Aphibarnrat also won on Tour last year and will be joined in Singh’s team by SSP Chawrasia, Danny Chia, Nicholas Fung, KT Kim, Shingo Katayama, Prayad Marksaeng and Jeunghun Wang.