Here are the teams for the Solheim Cup which takes place later this month in Des Moines, Iowa


2017 Solheim Cup Teams Announced

The teams for the 2017 Solheim Cup next month have been announced.

Jodi Ewart Shadoff booked her place in Team Europe with a runner-up finish at the Ricoh Women’s British Open, whilst Charley Hull, Mel Reid and Suzann Pettersen all qualified automatically.

Related: Jodi Ewart Shadoff second as IK Kim wins Women’s British Open

European Captain Annika Sorenstam had four wildcard picks and chose four-time Solheim Cup player Anna Nordqvist, two-time Solheim Cup player Caroline Masson and rookies Emily Pederson, from Denmark, and Sweden’s Magdalene Sagstrom.

2017 solheim cup teams

Annika Sorenstam announces her four wildcards. (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

US Captain Juli Inkster made some bold choices, looking past Paula Creamer, Morgan Pressel and Angela Stanford, who have made 17 Solheim Cup appearances between them.

Related: Paula Creamer misses Solheim Cup

Instead, Inkster went for LPGA Tour rookie Angel Yin and 25-year-old Austin Ernst, who won her only LPGA Tour title in August 2014.

The 10 automatic qualifiers included world number two Lexi Thompson, 2014 US Women’s Open champion Michelle Wie, eight-time Solheim Cup player Cristie Kerr and two-time major winner Stacy Lewis.


Charley Hull (Eng)

Georgia Hall (Eng)

Jodi Ewart Shadoff (Eng)

Mel Reid (Eng)

Florentyna Parker (Eng)

Carlota Ciganda (Spain)

Karine Icher (France)

Suzann Pettersen (Norway)


Anna Nordqvist (Sweden)

Caroline Masson (Germany)

Emily Pedersen (Denmark)

Madalene Sagstrom (Sweden)

Captains Juli Inkster and Annika Sorenstam have made 17 Solheim Cup appearances between them. (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)


Lexi Thompson

Stacy Lewis

Gerina Piller

Cristie Kerr

Jessica Korda

Danielle Kang

Michelle Wie

Brittany Lang

Brittany Lincicome

Lizette Salas

Captain’s Picks:

Austin Ernst

Angel Yin.

The 2017 Solheim Cup takes place at the Des Moines Country Club in Iowa on 18-20 August.

USA defend the cup after winning 14½-13½ in Germany in 2015.