Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele of the USA closed with a 13-under-par 59 to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout by three shots from Rory Sabbatini of South Africa and Venezuela’s Jhonattan Vegas.

The youngsters became the first PGA Tour rookies to win the event hosted by Greg Norman at Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Florida.

“We played well,” Bradley said. “We got off to a slow start, kind of like we did all three days, but we played this last stretch of holes really well.”

Bradley and Steele began the final round one shot clear of Nick Price and Mark Calcavecchia after Saturday’s better-ball. On Sunday, playing a scramble format, they were unstoppable. They made seven straight birdies from the 6th then followed that with an eagle and another birdie on the 14th and 15th.

Senior Tour players Price and Calcavecchia birdied the final hole to finish in a tie for second with Rory Sabbatini and Jhonattan Vegas.

“They played really well together,” said Price of Bradley and Steele. “They didn’t make any mistakes.

Franklin Templeton Shootout
Tiburon Golf Club, Naples, Florida
Dec 9-11, purse $3,000,000, par 72

1   Keegan Bradley (USA)      -9   -10   -13   -32   $375,000
    Brendan Steele (USA)                                    $375,000
T2   Rory Sabbatini (RSA)      -5   -12   -12   -29   $187,500
     Jhonattan Vegas (Ven)                   $187,500
T2   Mark Calcavecchia (USA)   -9   -9   -11   -29   $187,500        
      Nick Price (Zim)                    $187,500
T4   Charles Howell III (USA)   -4   -10   -14   -28  $102,500
    Justin Leonard (USA)                                   $102,500
T4   Jerry Kelly (USA)         -8   -7   -13   -28     $102,500
     Steve Stricker (USA)                                   $102,500
T6   Rickie Fowler (USA)      -7   -9   -10   -26     $81,875
      Camilo Villegas (Col)                 $81,875
T6   Stewart Cink (USA)      -2   -10   -14   -26  $81,875
      Bo Van Pelt (USA)                                     $81,875
T6   Chad Campbell (USA)      -4   -9   -13   -26   $81,875
      Chris DiMarco (USA)                                   $81,875
T6   Kenny Perry (USA)      -5   -10   -11   -26     $81,875
      Scott Stallings (USA)                                  $81,875