Carl Pettersson played a solid final round of 69 to win the RBC Heritage over the Harbour Town Golf Links at Hilton Head. Zach Johnson was five shots back in second place.

Pettersson began the last day with a one-shot advantage over Colt Knost but the Swede, now an American citizen, started fast with three birdies in the first five holes. At that point, his lead was four. That advantage was increased to five when Zach Johnson dropped a stroke to par at the 10th.

Johnson had one more look at the top of the leaderboard when he made a birdie at the 15th, before Pettersson made a bogey at the same hole. That meant the lead was just three. But Johnson failed to capitalise on the chance with a bogey of his own at the next hole. That left Pettersson in the clear and able to cruise home to victory, his fifth PGA Tour title.

“It was great,” he said after the round. “I didn’t want to put too much pressure on myself so I downplayed the whole thing. Getting off to a birdie start was key though.”

Zach Johnson managed to stay ahead of Colt Knost to claim second place, Knost finished alone in third.

Luke Donald finished in a tie for 37th and so resigned his position as World Number 1. Rory McIlroy has taken over despite not swinging a club this week. The Englishman had needed to finish in the top eight to retain Number 1 spot.

“Now, my focus is on winning tournaments,” he said.

RBC Heritage
Harbour Town Golf Links, Hilton Head, South Carolina
12-15 Apr, purse $5,700,000, par 71

1   Carl Pettersson (Swe)   70   65   66   69   270   $1,026,000
2   Zach Johnson (USA)   71   68   66   70   275   $615,600
3   Colt Knost (USA)      67   66   69   74   276   $387,600

T4   Billy Mayfair (USA)   72   70   67   69   278   $250,800
T4   Kevin Stadler (USA)   72   71   67   68   278   $250,800
T6   Matt Bettencourt (USA)   73   69   68   69   279   $198,075
T6   Boo Weekley (USA)   70   66   70   73   279   $198,075
T8   Harris English (USA)   68   68   73   71   280   $153,900
T8   Matt Every (USA)      68   72   73   67   280   $153,900
T8   Jim Furyk (USA)      68   75   67   70   280   $153,900
T8   Charley Hoffman (USA)   74   65   71   70   280   $153,900
T8   Kevin Na (USA)      70   68   69   73   280   $153,900

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
European Tour –
Louis Oosthuizen wins Malaysian Open