From the 2016 contest onwards, the European Ryder Cup Captain will be decided by a five-man panel, Ryder Cup Europe has announced.  

Chairman Thomas Bjorn and the Tournament Committee of the European Tour decided on the change at their most recent meeting during the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open at Castle Stuart. 

The Board of Ryder Cup Europe has since confirmed this decision. 

The five-man panel will be formed of the three previous Ryder Cup Captains, the Chief Executive of the European Tour and one representative from the Tournament Committee, who is to be nominated beforehand by the committee. 

For 2016 the panel will include Paul McGinley, Jose Maria Olazabal and Colin Montgomerie. 

Richard Hills, Europe’s Ryder Cup Director, said: “The job of Ryder Cup captain is an ever expanding and ever demanding role and I think this decision perfectly focuses the three vital ingredients required in any selection process.”

“These are; the immediate experience of the three past captains which brings six years of vital knowledge to the table, the office of the Chief Executive of The European Tour which outlines the wide ranging political and practical requirements; and the Tournament Committee representative who will, having canvassed his colleagues on Tour, bring the feelings and wishes of the players to the discussion.”

This scheme will be the third process used to select the Ryder Cup captain since the 1979 contest.