South Africa’s Charl Schwartzel destroyed the field in the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek, winning by a staggering 12 shots from Kristoffer Broberg of Sweden.

Schwartzel began the day with a 10-stroke advantage and never really looked troubled around a course where he had secured a victory and four runner’s-up finishes in previous years.

His lead was reduced to seven after a three-putt at the eighth hole. But he struck back with a birdie at the next, he then rattled off three birdies on the back nine after poor weather had delayed play.

After winning by 11 strokes in Thailand last week, Schwartzel posted another emphatic victory in his home country, this time winning by 12.

“It’s nice to have continued my form from last week. I was saying a month and a half ago it’s been a pretty disappointing year,” he said. “It’s always been a special place for me,” he said. “This is where I can almost say my career started and it’s always stayed close to my heart.”

Gregory Bourdy of France had been in second place for most of the last two rounds, but a double bogey at the home hole saw him drop into a tie for third and allowed Sweden’s Kristoffer Broberg to claim solo second.

The Swede graduated from the 2012 Challenge Tour where he won four times. He’s clearly adapting well to life on the main circuit.

“It’s amazing to get off to such a good start in The Race to Dubai in my first season as a European Tour Member and it sets me up pretty good for the new season,” he said.

Last week’s winner Scott Jamieson enjoyed another good tournament. He ended the competition tied for third with Bourdy, Garth Mulroy and England’s Andy Sullivan.

There was good news for George Coetzee. The South African finished tied for 10th and did enough to stay in the top-50 on the Official World Golf Ranking and so earn a spot in the 2013 US Masters.

Alfred Dunhill Championship
Leopard Creek Country Club, Malelane, South Africa
Dec 16-16, purse €1,500,000, par 72

1   Charl Schwartzel (RSA)   67   64   64   69   264   €237,750
2   Kristoffer Broberg (Swe) 70   69   67   70   276   €172,500
T3   Scott Jamieson (Sco)   70   68   71   68   277   €73,125
T3   Garth Mulroy (RSA)   71   68   70   68   277   €73,125
T3   Andy Sullivan (Eng)   73   71   64   69   277   €73,125
T3   Gregory Bourdy (Fra)   66   65   74   72   277   €73,125
T7   Richard Sterne (RSA)   70   68   70   70   278   €37,850
T7   Keith Horne (RSA)   70   69   68   71   278   €37,850
T7   Steve Webster (Eng)   67   69   70   72   278   €37,850

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage