Europe have taken the early advantage on day one after beating Asia 4.5-1.5 in the opening fourballs round of the EurAsia Cup in Kuala Lumpur

EurAsia Cup Day 1 Roundup

English pairing Danny Willett and Matthew Fitzpatrick were the only Europeans to be beaten on day one of the EurAsia Cup at Glenmarie Golf and Country Club.

Europe started strongly with two comfortable victories to claim a 2-0 lead. The first pairing to secure victory was Ian Poulter and his Austrian partner Bernd Wiesberger.

After leading at the sixth, they took control on the back nine, winning three successive holes starting on the 10th. They secured a 4&3 win over Anirban Lahiri and Jeunghun Wang.

The standout performance of the day came through Ross Fisher and Kristoffer Broberg, who convincingly beat Prayad Marksaeng and KT Tim 6&4 after reaching the turn four up.

Asia fought back to close the lead through their top pairing Thongchai Jaidee and Byeong-Hun An. They were, however, two down at the turn but turned their fortunes around to beat Willett and Fitzpatrick 3&1.

Europe then regained a two-point advantage when Shane Lowry and Andy Sullivan, who is missing out on the chance to defend his Joburg Open title, won 2&1 against Wu Ashun and Shingo Katayama.

The only half of the day came in the match between Soren Kjeldsen and Victor Dubuisson against Danny Chia and Nicholas Fung.

Europe exerted their dominance through Lee Westwood and Chris Wood. They overcame winner of the Saltire Energy Paul Lawrie Match Play, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, and his partner SSP Chawrasia 2&1.

After the tournament ended in a draw the first time it was held in 2014, Europe will be looking to stretch their three-point advantage in Saturday’s six foursomes matches.

Saturday’s foursomes:

Danny Willett & Ian Poulter v Byeong Hun An & Thongchai Jaidee

Bernd Wiesberger & Ross Fisher v Jeunghun Wang & KT Tim

Chris Wood & Kristoffer Broberg v Kiradech Aphibarnrat & SSP Chawrasia

Andy Sullivan & Shane Lowry v Prayad Marksaeng & Shingo Katayama

Soren Kjeldsen & Victor Dubuisson v Danny Chia & Nicholas Fung

Lee Westwood & Matthew Fitzpatrick v Anirban Lahiri & Wu Ashun