Captains Seve Ballesteros and Naomichi Ozaki announced two strong teams that will compete in the second Royal Trophy in Bangkok next month.

Five members of the European Ryder Cup team were named in Seve Ballesteros? European side that takes on Asia. These are Darren Clarke, Henrik Stenson, Robert Karlsson, Lee Westwood and Paul McGinley. The European line-up is completed by Johan Edfors, Niclas Fasth and Anthony Wall.

Asia captain Naomichi “Joe” Ozaki has announced a side that he hopes will exact revenge on the Europeans after a 9-7 defeat last year. Jeev Milkha Singh is the biggest name on the Asian team and will be a tough challenge for anyone. The Asian Tour Order of Merit winner has had the best year of his career and is now ranked 37 in the world.

Thailand’s Thongchai Jaidee will also be tough to beat ? he will enter the event on the back of a victory at the Volvo Masters of Asia last weekend.

They are joined by Tetsuji Hiratsuka, S K Ho, Prom Meesawat, Toru Taniguchi, Thaworn Wiratchant and Yang Yong-eun.

The event begins on January 12 and, in Ryder Cup style, will involve fourballs, foursomes and singles played over three days.