The winners of the Foremost Golf Monthly tour awards were revealed at the 2014 PGA Trade show in Harrogate. Rory McIlroy, Charl Schwartzel and Annika Sorenstam all enjoyed success


The winners of the 2014 Foremost Golf Monthly Awards were revealed at the PGA Trade Show in Harrowgate this October.

Readers of Golf Monthly voted for their favourites in four categories: Shot of the Year, Breakthrough Performance of the Year, Outstanding Contribution to the Game and Player of the Year.

Unsurprisingly, Rory McIlroy triumphed in the Player of the Year category, beating off the likes of Martin Kaymer and Jimmy Walker.

Charl Schwartzel prevailed in the Shot of the Year category for his incredible 5-iron off a cart path at the Volvo Golf Champions in January, which settled some four feet from the hole.

Rickie Fowler won Breakthrough Performance of the Year for his four top-5 major finishes in 2014, while Annika Sorenstam secured the Outstanding Contribution to the Game accolade in recognition of her dedication to growing and supporting golf worldwide.

McIlroy, Schwartzel and Sorenstam took time out of their busy schedules to thank Foremost professionals and readers of Golf Monthly for their respective Foremost Golf Monthly Awards.

Alongside the consumer element, a number of PGA Professional and brands were recognised at the ceremony.

Alex White was named Foremost Golf‘s Professional of the Year, Warren Wood claimed the Breakthrough Professional of the Year accolade and Foremost’s Elite Marketing Programme Professional of the Year went to Ian Orrell.

With regards manufacturers, notable winners were Ping (Supplier of the Year for 7th successive year), FootJoy (Apparel Range of the Year and Shoe of the Year – Contour Series), Titleist (Wedge of the Year – Vokey SM5 and Ball of the Year – Pro V1) and Motocaddy (Electric Trolley of the Year – S1 and Most Innovative Product – M1 Pro).

Other winners:

Sunderland Dolphin Collection – Waterproof Model of the Year
TaylorMade Speedblade – Iron Model of the Year
Odyssey Versa – Putter Model of the Year