Italy’s Francesco Molinari fired a superb final round of 65 to win the Reale Seguros Open de España by three shots from Alejandro Cañizares, Soren Kjeldsen and Pablo Larrazabal.

Molinari began the final round four shots off the pace, but with seven birdies in his first 14 holes, the Italian took control of the tournament. Finishing with four steady pars, it was an advantage he didn’t relinquish. This was Molinari’s first victory since the WGC-HSBC Champions event in Shanghai nearly 18 months ago and it could move him back into the top-30 on the Official World Golf Ranking.

“I knew I was playing well. I just needed some putts to drop,” he said. “I was also hoping the other guys would not go too far under par and everything worked out perfectly.”

Simon Dyson began the final round at the top of the leaderboard and he extended his advantage with birdies at his first two holes. But things went awry for the Englishman from that point onwards. He eventually finished with a 76 to end the week in a disappointing tie for 12th.

Playing with Dyson, Pablo Larrazabal fought back well from a poor start to claim a tie for second with countryman Alejandro Cañizares and Denmark’s Soren Kjeldsen. The Spaniard was clearly disappointed not to secure a home victory.

“I concentrated so hard today and tried to focus but I just couldn’t get the ball as close as I wanted to,” said Larrazabal. “Francesco played so good and I just couldn’t match him.”

Reale Seguros Open de España
Real Club de Golf de Sevilla
3-6 May, purse €2,000,000, par 72

1   Francesco Molinari (Ita) 70   71   74   65   280   €333,330
T2   Alejandro Cañizares (Esp) 74   72   68   69   283   €149,140
T2   Soren Kjeldsen (Den)   71   70   71   71   283   €149,140
T2   Pablo Larrazabal (Esp)   71   72   69   71   283   €149,140
T5   Jorge Campillo (Esp)   68   72   73   72   285   €77,400
T5   Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)   73   72   70   70   285   €77,400
T7   Markus Brier (Aut)   74   73   72   67   286   €46,320
T7   Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel)   72   72   71   71   286   €46,320
T7   Matteo Manassero (Ita)   70   70   76   70   286   €46,320
T7   Gareth Maybin (NIR)   73   75   71   67   286   €46,320
T7   Graeme Storm (Eng)   70   71   74   71   286   €46,320

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
PGA Tour –
Rickie Fowler wins Wells Fargo Championship