Geoff Ogilvy of Australia almost lost a six shot lead during the final round of the Mercedes-Benz Championship before regaining his composure and closing out victory in the first PGA Tour event of 2009 by six shots from Anthony Kim.

Anders Hansen wins Joburg Open
Europe beaten by Asia in Royal Trophy

Ogilvy began the final round six clear of his nearest pursuer but four bogeys in the first eight holes saw that advantage trimmed to just one. The slip was enough to kick the Australian into action.


“It’s an uncomfortable feeling to know you’re six shots out in front and you’re almost back to tied.” Ogilvy said. “I got to the green and saw I had a one-shot lead and it felt like a normal tournament again. I just told myself, ‘It’s a great spot to be after 63 holes, get on with it.'”


On the par-5 ninth Ogilvy fired a majestic 3-iron from 223 yards that settled on the green 20 feet from the cup. He rolled in the eagle putt and never looked back. Having gone out in 32, Anthony Kim just couldn’t keep up on the back nine as Ogilvy made four straight birdies from the 12th.


“I knew he was just teasing me for a little while there, and he was going to make some birdies,” Kim said. “Unfortunately, I couldn’t.” The young American did, however, finish in some style. He blasted a 3-wood approach to the final green that ended just inches from the cup for a tap-in eagle. He finished in a tie for second with Davis Love III.


It was a fifth PGA TOUR victory for Ogilvy, adding to his U.S. Open title of 2006 and a pair of World Golf Championships. He finished at 24 under par, earned $1.12 million and moved up to No. 6 in the world.


Mercedes-Benz Championship
Plantation Course at Kapalua, Hawaii
Jan 8-11, purse $5,600,000, par 73

1    Geoff Ogilvy (Aus)        67    68    65    68    268    $1,120,000
T2    Anthony Kim (USA)        71    68    68    67    274    $523,500
T2    Davis Love III (USA)        69    70    68    67    274    $523,500
4    Sean O’Hair (USA)        69    70    71    65    275    $312,000
5    Justin Leonard (USA)        74    67    65    70    276    $261,000
T6    Ernie Els (RSA)        68    69    73    67    277    $189,250
T6    Zach Johnson (USA)        71    75    64    67    277    $189,250
T6    Kenny Perry (USA)        68    71    68    70    277    $189,250

T6    D.J Trahan (USA)        70    66    70    71    277    $189,250
10    Johnson Wagner (USA)    68    71    70    69    278    $162,500

Note: players in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only.