Having inducted the likes of Vijay Singh and the late Mark McCormack in 2006, the World Golf Hall of Fame has published its list of prospective candidates for 2007 from the US and international sections. The two lists will be voted on by golf journalists, golf historians and leading figures in the game across the globe. In March the results are passed over to the World Golf Hall of Fame’s selection board, who will make the final judgement as to which golfers will join the prestigious institution later in the year.

“Each year we look forward to releasing the voting ballots as it signals the first step in determining the new members and we appreciate the input of all those involved in this initial process,” said Jack E. Peter, the senior vice president of the World Golf Hall of Fame.

There is only one change to last year’s US PGA Tour list, with David Toms appearing for the first time. The 40 year-old American qualifies for potential membership due to his twelve career wins, which include the 2001 USPGA Championship. There are no changes to the international listing from last year, where victorious European Ryder Cup captain Ian Woosnam will be hoping to attract votes.


Miller Barber, Bob Charles, Fred Couples, John Daly, Doug Ford, Hubert Green, Don January, Tony Lema, Davis Love III, Harold McSpaden, Mark O’Meara, Denny Shute, Macdonald Smith, Dave Stockton, Curtis Strange, David Toms, Ken Venturi, Lanny Wadkins, Craig Wood, Fuzzy Zoeller


Peter Alliss (Eng), Max Faulkner (Eng), Sandy Lyle (Sco), Graham Marsh (Aus), Colin Montgomerie (Sco), Kel Nagle (Aus), Christy O’Connor Snr (Ire), Jose-Maria Olazabal (Spa), Masashi ‘Jumbo’ Ozaki (Jap), Norman Von Nida (Aus), Ian Woosnam (Wal)