Padraig Harrington is ready for yet another assault on the US Masters in April. The Irishman is not totally happy with his game, and wants to prime himself for the possibility of holding all four majors at one time.

Harrington, recently announced as the European Tour Golfer of the Year for the second year in a row, has shot up to number 3 in the world rankings following an unbelievable 2008. He retained The Open at Birkdale, and three weeks later won the US PGA Championship in Detroit. Only a certain Tiger Woods has managed the same feat this century

What’s in Harrington’s bag?

Furthermore, Harrington is not only the first European since Tommy Armour in 1930 to win the US PGA, but also the first to win consecutive majors in the same year. You would think he would be pretty happy with his game right now!

“I have some serious gym work to do, and I also have some swing changes to make,” said the 37-year old. “The day I think that my game cannot be improved is the day I’ll retire.”

The Dubliner has the added pressure this year of being a multi-major winner, and the spotlight will be on him.

“When I come out next year I will be focused on getting my game ready for every week and building up for the Masters at Augusta,” he said.

“I know the Masters will be the hardest major for me to win because of the attention that will be on me.

“It is a lot easier to go into these things with a little less profile and stay patient for two or three days under the radar and finish it off on Sunday.

“But I won’t have that luxury at Augusta because right from the word go there will be focus on me.”

Success has followed Harrington this year, and he added to that with the European Tour’s Shot of the Year award. It was given for his superb 5-wood to the 17th at Birkdale in this year’s Open.

View the European Tour Shot of the Month contenders


Related News:Harrington named European Tour Golfer of the Year

Padraig Harrington wins the European Tour Shot of the Year


Gallery: Padraig Harrington: Triple Major Winner 

European Tour Player of the Year Winners