After Ian Poulter’s win in the Australian Masters, Lee Westwod made it an English double this weekend by claiming victory in the Thailand Golf Championship at Amata Spring Country Club in Bangkok.

Westwood began the week with a scintillating round of, 12-under-par, 60 on Thursday and followed that up with a 64 to take an incredible 11 shot lead into the weekend.

But Masters champion Charl Schwartzel struck back on Saturday and, as Westwood struggled to a one-over-par 73, the South African fired a second consecutive 66 to close within just four shots with one round to play.

The gap was reduced to three when Schwartzel birdied the opening hole of the final round, but Westwood quickly struck back with two birdies of his own at the 2nd and 3rd holes.

Schwartzel had a glimmer of hope on the back nine when he eagled the par-5 11th to, once again, get within three. But Westwood was in no mood to let this tournament slip from his clutches. He struck back with three birdies between the 12th and 15th holes.

Schwartzel fell away on the run in and eventually finished seven shots back from the Englishman. In the end, the South African did well to hold on to second place, he managed it by a single shot from Michael Thompson of the USA.

Simon Dyson produced four solid rounds to finish the week in a tie for fourth place.

With the victory Westwood had moved back to second on the Official World Golf Ranking.

Thailand Golf Championship
Amata Spring Country Club, Bangkok, Thailand
Dec 15-18, purse $1,000,000, par 72

1   Lee Westwood (Eng)   60   64   73   69   266   
2   Charl Schwartzel (RSA)   69   66   66   72   273   
3   Michael Thompson (USA) 69   66   69   70   274   
T4   Simon Dyson (Eng)   69   70   68   69   276   
T4   Chawalit Plaphol (Tha)   73   71   65   67   276   
T6   Guido Van der Valk (Ned) 71   69   66   73   279   
T6   Daisuke Maruyama (Jap) 73   68   68   70   279 
8   Alex Cejka (Ger)      71   71   71   67   280   
T9   Tetsuji Hiratsuka (Jap)   71   72   68   70   281   
T9   Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind)   71   68   72   70   281   

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
JBWere Australian Masters –
Ian Poulter wins