Padraig Harrington, has been named by his fellow professionals as the inaugural winner of The European Tour Players’ Player of the Year Award for 2008.
Harrington, who successfully defended The Open Championship at Royal Birkdale before going on to capture the US PGA Championship at Oakland Hills, was honoured by his fellow Tour Champions at The European Tour’s Annual Awards Dinner at Wentworth.
The new award was conceived by The European Tour’s Tournament Committee, whose Chairman, Thomas Björn, was on hand as Harrington received a solid silver salver which will be presented annually to the outstanding player as selected by the Tour Membership.
The trophy carries the names of all European Tour Members who have won Majors since the formation of the Tour in 1972.
Harrington commented: “I am deeply honoured to be recognised by my fellow European Tour professionals, who have been worthy competitors on the world’s fairways and good friends off the course.
“I am delighted to receive this Award surrounded by so many great players and I would like to thank everyone who voted for me. I am sure the Players’ Player Award will go from strength to strength and to be named as the first winner is very special indeed.”

Where next?

Golf betting guides: Memorial Tournament and Celtic Manor Wales Open
Notice board: Samuel L Jackson’s star-studded charity golf day
Equipment news: FootJoy DryJoys celebrates 20th with exclusive anniversary golf shoe range