Victoria has been named as the host, but no club has been decided upon yet

Australia will host the Presidents Cup in 2019 it has been announced. Australia will also host the 2016 World Cup of Golf.

Both these events will take place in the state of Victoria. Although the course will only be decided at a later date, it is expected that when the decision comes it will be Royal Melbourne that will be the host venue.

Royal Melbourne has twice before held the Presidents Cup, in 1998 and in 2011. The first of these occasions is the only time that the International side has won the Presidents Cup.

Both the previous times that the Presidents Cup was held in Australia, the International team captain has been an Australian.

In 1998 Peter Thomson’s International team defeated Jack Nicklaus’ US team 20.5pts to 11.5pts. In 2011, Fred Couples led the US to a 19-15 win over an International side under the captaincy of Greg Norman.

The first two Presidents Cup matches were held in the US, but the venue has since then alternated between the US and a country outside of Europe and the US – in other words, a country whose nationals are eligible for the International side.

The Presidents Cup will be played at Liberty National just outside New York in 2017.

The decision to award the Presidents Cup in 2019 to Australia does mean that South America remains the only continent involved in the Presidents Cup that has not yet hosted the matches. This year’s Presidents Cup is in South Korea. In 2003 it was held at Fancourt Golf & Country Club in South Africa and in 2007 at Royal Montreal Golf Club in Canada.

There are two Australians in the current Presidents Cup team, Queenslander Jason Day, South Australian Adam Scott and Victorian Marc Leishman. The 12-man team is made up of the top 10 eligible players in the world rankings and two captain’s picks.