Rory McIlroy has secured the 2014 Race to Dubai crown and claimed the title of Europe's best golfer for the second time in three seasons

Rory McIlroy has secured the 2014 Race to Dubai crown and claimed the title of Europe’s best golfer for the second time in three seasons.

The world number one didn’t take part in the BMW Masters, WGC-HSBC Champions or Turkish Airlines Open but had an enormous lead heading into the Finals Series.

Henrik Stenson, Marcel Siem and Sergio Garcia were the only golfers capable of catching the Northern Irishman, but a victory in Turkey was essential.

As it transpired, American Brooks Koepka reigned supreme at the Montgomery Maxx Royal in Antalya, handing the title to McIlroy.

Despite not playing the three lucrative Finals Series events, the Ulsterman has 5,400,700 Race to Dubai points – more than double Stenson in second place.

He effectively secured the title during an incredible summer stretch that saw him with The Open, the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational and the USPGA Championship in a sublime four-week stretch.

“This has obviously been the best season of my career by a long way, and to win the Race to Dubai for the second time is something truly special,” said McIlroy.

“That four-week spell over the summer would have to be the best golf of my life, so I feel like I’ve really earned the Race to Dubai.

“Winning it for the first time two years ago was a fantastic feeling, but I feel like I’m not a more complete player and my all-round game has moved to another level.”

McIlroy will take part in this week’s season-ending DP World Tour Championship at Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai – an event he won with a stunning five-birdie finish in 2012.

“It’s a great tournament to finish the season with, and if I can notch another win it really will complete an amazing year,” said McIlroy.

“I’m looking forward to getting out on the golf course and feeling that competitive edge again.”

The European Tour’s Chief Executive, George O’Grady, added:

“Rory is a credit to both himself and the European Tour, and a most deserving winner of the Race to Dubai.”