2013 PGA Tour rookie Russell Henley set a tournament scoring record in the process of winning the Sony Open in Hawaii at Waialae Country Club by three shots from Tim Clark of South Africa.

Tied for the lead with fellow rookie Scott Langley at the beginning of round four, Henley stamped his authority with a birdie on the opening hole. He didn’t let up and cruised round in a superb 63 to keep the field at bay.

He’s the first man to win on his debut as a PGA Tour member since Garrett Willis in Tuscon 12 years ago, and he’s earned a start at this year’s US Masters.

“I don’t really know what happened, honestly,” said the 23-year-old. “This is the most nervous I’ve ever been. That’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done. It’s been my goal to make it to the Masters my whole life. I’m kind of speechless right now.”

Scott Langley faded a little on Sunday, closing with a level par 70. In the end it was South Africa’s Tim Clark who emerged as Henley’s nearest challenger.

Clark birdied seven of his last 11 holes but was still only able to make up one shot on the American. Henley just kept rolling the putts home.

“When you get up and close to see how a guy plays…. Well if he putts like that all the time, whew! It’s all over,” Clark said.

Finishing on a four-round total of 24-under-par, Henley broke the tournament scoring record by four shots. It was also the third lowest 72-hole score in PGA Tour history.

Sony Open in Hawaii
Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii
Jan 10-13, purse $5,600,000 par 70

1   Russell Henley (USA)   63   63   67   63   256   $990,000
2   Tim Clark (RSA)      64   66   66   63   259   $594,000
T3   Charles Howell III (USA) 66   64   67   66   263   $319,000
T3   Scott Langley (USA)   62   66   65   70   263   $319,000

T5   Matt Kuchar (USA)   66   63   70   65   264   $200,750
T5   Brian Stuard (USA)   66   68   65   65   264   $200,750
T5   Chris Kirk (USA)      68   62   68   66   264   $200,750
8   Jeff Overton (USA)   65   68   67   65   265   $170,500
T9   Harris English (USA)   69   69   62   66   266   $143,000
T9   Marc Leishman (Aus)   67   68   64   67   266   $143,000
T9   Dicky Pride (USA)      68   67   64   67   266   $143,000

T9   Pat Perez (USA)      68   63   67   68   266   $143,000

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
European Tour –
Louis Oosthuizen wins Volvo Golf Champions