Australia’s Scott Strange has won the Volvo China Open at the Beijing CBD International GC by a single shot from Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano of Spain. The victory earned Strange an automatic spot in the Volvo World Matchplay later this season.

Four shots adrift of Richard Finch at the start of the final round, Strange made progress with two birdies on the front nine, but appeared to have put himself out of contention with a bogey at the par-3 12th. The 32-year-old hit straight back, however, with consecutive birdies at the 14th and 15th then another at the 17th. That gave him the advantage and a solid par on the closing hole sealed his victory.

“I didn’t tear the golf course apart but I played the golf course the best way I could and produced a score which ended up winning,” he said. “I had a peek on the board on 12 and I knew there was a log jam there. I didn’t really know if I’d won when I holed that putt at the last.”

England’s Richard Finch had a poor front nine of 38 and he couldn’t reclaim the lost shots on the way home, finishing two shots behind Strange in a tie for third.

“I’m a little disappointed, obviously 74 is not the final round I was looking for,” he said. “That’s the way it goes, you’ve just got to take it on the chin so that’s that.”

Strange has moved to 20th in the Race to Dubai and will receive an automatic spot in the 16-man field for September’s Volvo World Matchplay at Finca Cortesin in Spain. That means a guaranteed cheque for $155,000, even if he loses in the first round.

Volvo China Open
Beijing CBD International GC, China
Apr 16-19, purse €1,275,000, par 72

1    Scott Strange (Aus)    70    73    69    68    280    €275,814
2    Gonzalo Fdz-Castano (Esp) 71  70    68    72    281    €183,875    
T3    Mark Brown (NZL)    71    77    65    69    282    €85,504
T3    Richard Finch (Eng)    71    71    66    74    282    €85,504
T3    Ashley Hall (Aus)        75    71    65    71    282    €85,504
T6    David Dixon (Eng)    72    73    67    71    283    €53,785
T6    Stephen Dodd (Wal)    74    71    70    68    283    €53,785
T8    Markus Brier (Aut)    67    73    71    73    284    €37,180
T8    Paul McGinley (Ire)    74    67    75    68    284    €37,180
T8    Chapchai Nirat (Tha)    69    71    72    72    284    €37,180

Note: Players in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only