Sean O’Hair and Kenny Perry combined to win the Franklin Templeton Shootout at Tiburon Golf Club in Florida by a single shot from Rory Sabbatini and Charles Howell III.

At 52 years old, Perry is the oldest player to have won the shootout and has now claimed victory in the event with three different partners. He won with John Huston in 2005 and Scott Hoch in 2008.

O’Hair and Perry took a two-shot lead into the final round but, by no means, had it their own way over the closing 18 holes.

Playing in a scramble format, the scoring was outstanding on Sunday. The round of the day came from Charles Howell III and South Africa’s Rory Sabbatini. They posted a phenomenal 57 that included an eagle two on a par four. But, despite the brilliant effort, they came up a shot shy of O’Hair and Perry.

“We played really well and gave ourselves a lot of opportunities,” Sabbatini said. “We put a good number up there and that’s all we could really do. We had a lot of fun and Charles hit the ball fantastically.”

O’Hair and Perry finished strongly to deny the chasing pack. The Americans fired five birdies in their last six holes to secure the victory and $375,000 each.

“The best thing about this was just we had a ton of fun,” said O’Hair. “Just like being a kid enjoying what you’re doing.”

The pairings of Jason Dufner and Vijay Singh and Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker also broke 60 on the final day. They finished in third and tied fourth place respectively.

Franklin Templeton Shootout
Tiburon Golf Club, Naples, Florida
Dec 7-9, purse $3,000,000 par 72

1   Sean O’Hair (USA)      64   61   60   185   $375,000     
     Kenny Perry (USA)                                 $375,000
2   Charles Howell III (USA)   66   63   57   186   $235,000
    Rory Sabbatini (RSA)                                  $235,000
3   Jason Dufner (USA)      66   63   59   188   $140,000
    Vijay Singh (Fij)                                     $140,000   
T4   Jerry Kelly (USA)         68   63   58   189   $97,500
      Steve Stricker (USA)                                $97,500
T4   Stewart Cink (USA)      67   62   60   189   $97,500
     Carl Pettersson (Swe)                               $97,500
T4   Davis Love III (USA)      62   65   62   189   $97,500
      Brandt Snedeker (USA)                             $97,500
T7   Keegan Bradley (USA)      67   64   60   191   $81,250
      Brendan Steele (USA)                                 $81,250   
T7   Dustin Johnson (USA)      67   65   59   191   $81,250
       Ian Poulter (Eng)                                       $81,250

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
European Tour –
Scott Jamieson wins Nelson Mandela Championship