Sergio Garcia moved to second in the Official World Golf Ranking after winning the HSBC Champions tournament in Shanghai in a playoff against Oliver Wilson.

Davis Love wins Children’s Miracle Classic

The 28-year-old Spaniard fired a final round of 68 to match Wilson’s finishing total of 274 (-14) and force extra holes. With a birdie at the second playoff hole Garcia took the title, a cheque for €650,000 and first place in the inaugural Race to Dubai.

Wilson, who’s yet to win a tournament on the European Tour, had good reason to feel hard done by. He did very little wrong in his final round of 70 and he played solidly all week, dealing admirably with the rain delay in the second round and the resulting Monday finish. But Garcia is in the best form of his career and he was not to be denied. The Englishman had to settle for his fifth runner’s-up finish of 2008.

Garcia was delighted to secure his eighth European Tour victory, “It feels great.” He said. “I am so proud, to win and become World Number Two, it’s been great.”

Former World Number Two and defending champion Phil Mickelson struggled to a final round 73 that included a double bogey six at the tough 14th. He ended the week in a tie for eighth place with Prayad Marksaeng of Thailand.

Sweden’s Peter Hanson, winner of the SAS Masters, finished strongly with a 66 to tie Geoff Ogilvy for third on -13. Hanson made consecutive twos on the back nine – he birdied the par-4 12th then holed his approach shot to the par-4 13th. A further birdie at the 16th saw the Swede back in 32.

Another Swede Henrik Stenson finished alone in fifth with Charl Schwartzel and Adam Scott a further shot back in tied sixth.

HSBC Champions
Sheshan International GC
Nov 6-9, purse €3,035,000, par 72

1  Sergio Garcia (Esp)  66  68  72  68  274  €650,383
2  Oliver Wilson (Eng)  67  68  69  70  274  €433,601
T3  Peter Hanson (Swe)  69  70  70  66  275  €219,708
T3  Geoff Ogilvy (Aus)  70  65  70  70  275  €219,708  
5  Henrik Stenson (Swe)  65  69  72  71  277  €166,245
T6  Charl Schwartzel (RSA)  69  72  67  70  278  €126,830
T6  Adam Scott (Aus)  66  71  71  70  278  €126,830
T8  Prayad Marksaeng (Tha)  68  70  71  70  279  €92,488
T8  Phil Mickelson (USA)  66  70  70  73  279  €92,488
10  Alvaro Quiros (Esp)  70  67  73  70  280  €78,245

Note: Players in bold signifies Titleist ball usage.