The twenty-first St Andrews Links Trophy promises to be the best yet as a top class international field prepares to play at the Home of Golf.
With Walker Cup places at Merion in September up for grabs, the majority of the Great Britain and Ireland squad will be on show in St Andrews looking to impress team boss Colin Dalgleish.
Scots Wallace Booth and Gavin Dear who, together with Callum Macaulay took the world amateur team title in Australia last autumn, will join defending champion Keir McNicoll.
England will be represented by James Robinson, 2008 Amateur Championship runner-up Tommy Fleetwood and Todd Adcock.
Nigel Edwards will return to the Links to be joined by Welsh compatriots Rhys Enoch, Adam Runcie, Joe Vickery and Oliver Farr.
Irish hopes will lean on Shane Lowry who won the Irish Amateur Closed Championship in 2007.
The overseas contingent includes Americans Jack Eckardt, Gregory O’Mahony, Scott Pinkney and Bill Rankin.
Canadians Peter Sauerbrei and Christopher Ross will line up as will South Africa‘s Derik Ferreira and Andre De Decker, who will be joined by Mark Fensham and Jake Redman.
Brendan Smith and Matt Jager were members of Australia’s victorious Southern Cross Cup team, with Jager the recent winner of the New Zealand Men’s Amateur Championship.
The first two rounds of the St Andrews Links Trophy 2009 will be played on the New Course and the Old Course on June 5 and 6, with the final two rounds taking place on the Old Course on June 7.

Where next?

Equipment review: Odyssey Black Series i 2-Ball putter review
More Tour news: Colin Montgomerie and Corey Pavin set for Celtic Manor meeting
Competitions: New golf competitions: Win a PowaKaddy Freeway II Lithium