The PGA Tour has announced the first six tournaments of its newly-structured 2013-2014 season, which starts in October 2013.

The Fall Series – four events traditionally staged after the conclusion of the FedEx Cup – has been abandoned, with three of those four tournaments forming part of the start of the new season.

The 2013-2014 campaign will start with the Open, contested from October 10-13, followed by the Shriners Hospitals for Children Open in Las Vegas.

The Tour then heads to Malaysia and China for the CIMB Classic and the WGC-HSBC Champions – which form part of the official schedule for the first time – before returning to Georgia for the McGladreys Classic and moving to Mexico for the OHL Classic at Mayakoba.

The PGA Tour will then break before starting up again in January.

All six tournaments will award full FedEx Cup points, and the winners will qualify for the Hyundai Tournament of Champions.

“We are very pleased that the start to the 2013-2014 PGA Tour season features such strong events, including several international tournaments,” said Andy Pazder, the tour’s Chief of Operations.

“Due to the change from the traditional calendar season to the newly-configured schedule that bridges two calendar years, we felt it was important to announce this first portion of the schedule.”

For information on the 2013 PGA Tour schedule, click here.