Thomas Aiken of South Africa completed a closing round of 67 to win the European Tour’s Avantha Masters in India by three shots from home player Gaganjeet Bhullar.

Aiken produced a stunning third round of 62 at Jaypee Greens Golf & Spa Resort to take a three shot lead into Sunday. But he faced early pressure as Bhullar got off to a storming start with three birdies and an eagle. Aiken responded with birdies of his own at the second and fifth holes before three further birdies on the back nine. Those were enough to secure a second European Tour title for the South African.

“I’ve been playing very nicely the last four months, not making a lot of mistakes, but just not sinking enough putts,” he said. “This week a few went in, I hit some better iron shots which gave me a better chance to sink some putts, and I played some phenomenal golf.”

Gaganjeet Bhullar capitalised on his excellent start and went on to post an eight-under-par 64, enough to secure second place on his own.

China’s Liang Wen-chong followed a double-bogey on the sixth with a hole-in-one at the next hole. He finished with a 69 to claim third spot.

“To bounce back like that from the double-bogey showed lots of character,” he said. “I could not make as many putts as I would have liked. You win some and you lose some, I tried my best and that’s all I can ask for”

Scotland’s David Drysdale was only four shots off the pace going into the final round, but he bogeyed the first hole and just couldn’t get it going through the next 17. He finished with a 71 and claimed a tie for sixth with Australia’s Scott Hend and David Horsey of England.

Avantha Masters
Jaypee Greens Golf & Spa Resort, Greater Noida, Dehli, India
Mar 14-17, purse €1,800,000 par 72

1   Thomas Aiken (RSA)   67   69   62   67   265   €300,000
2   Gaganjeet Bhullar (Ind) 68   69   67   64   268   €200,000

3   Liang Wen-chong (Chn)   66   66   69   69   270   €112,680
4   Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha) 68 68   66   69   271   €90,000

5   Seuk-hyun Baek (Kor)   68   68   70   66   272   €76,320
T6   David Drysdale (Sco)   67   67   68   71   273   €54,000
T6   Scott Hend (Aus)      67   68   68   70   273   €54,000
T6   David Horsey (Eng)   72   68   66   67   273   €54,000
T9   Victor Dubuisson (Fra)   69   68   70   67   274   €35,100
T9   Tommy Fleetwood (Eng) 69   65   69   71   274   €35,100
T9   Julien Quesne (Fra)   69   66   69   70   274   €35,100
T9   Himmat Rai (Ind)      70   71   68   65   274   €35,100   

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
PGA Tour –
Kevin Streelman wins Tampa Bay Championship