Tiger Woods voted PGA Tour Player of the Year

Tiger Woods has been voted 2013 PGA Tour Player of the Year, with Jordan Spieth claiming the Rookie of the Year accolade.

The world number one has won five times on the PGA Tour this season, including two WGC titles and the Players Championship.

Woods – who earned $8,533,439 to finish 2013 atop the money list – has now won the PGA Tour Player of the Year accolade 11 times.

“It’s been an incredible year to have won five times,” said Woods.

“It’s been a fantastic year all round. It’s an incredible feeling to be voted by your peers and have that respect. It’s very humbling.”

The 79-time PGA Tour winner and 14-time major champion – who beat off Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson, Adam Scott and Henrik Stenson – now sits just three victories shy of Sam Snead’s all-time PGA Tour record.

Spieth, meanwhile, was awarded the PGA Tour Rookie of the Year award in recognition of a sensational debut season on the America circuit.

He started the year with no PGA Tour status, earned his 2014 card after just a handful of starts and became the youngest ever competitor in the season-ending Tour Championship.

He won the John Deere Classic aged 19, finished runner up at the Puerto Rico Open, Wyndham Championship and Tour Championship and notched five other top 10s in 2013.

“It’s a tremendous honour. It’s been a great year for rookies on the PGA Tour,” said Spieth, who was selected over Derek Ernst, Russell Henley and David Lingmerth.

Spieth – who makes his Presidents Cup debut next week – has moved up 789 places in the Official World Golf Ranking since January.