Tiger Woods secured his 75th PGA Tour title with a four-stroke victory over Josh Teater and Brandt Snedeker in the Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines in California.

It was an unusual finish to the tournament. Fog meant play was abandoned on Saturday and the event couldn’t be completed on Sunday. Woods still had 11 holes to play when he returned to La Jolla on Monday morning.

The American led by six as play resumed, and at one point his advantage had extended to eight. But as slow play began to irritate the World Number 2, he lost his patience and a few shots towards the end of his round. He made a bogey from a bunker on the 14th before a loose tee shot on the 15th ended in thick ice plants and resulted in a double bogey.

He suffered another dropped shot on the 17th, but was still left with a four-shot lead with one hole to play. Kyle Stanley lost a three shot lead on the same hole just last year, but Tiger wasn’t going to make the same mistake. He played safely to the green in regulation and two-putted for victory.

“It got a little slow towards the end and I started losing my concentration a little bit,” said Woods who took almost four hours to complete 11 holes. “But to win makes it very special. I know I can do that and it was nice to be able to do it.”

Nick Watney
looked like he might mount a challenge to Woods having reached the turn in 32. But, he dropped four shots on the run for home to fall back into a tie for fourth place with Jimmy Walker.

“I don’t know if anyone could have beaten him this week,” said Watney.

As it was, 2012 FedEx Cup winner Brandt Snedeker tied for second place with Josh Teater, both closed with rounds of 69.

With the victory, Tiger has moved within seven of Sam Snead’s PGA Tour record 82 titles. It was the seventh time he has won this tournament and the eighth he’s tasted victory at Torrey Pines – it was the site of his 2008 US Open triumph.

Farmers Insurance Open
Torrey Pines, La Jolla, California
Jan 23-27, purse $6,100,000 par 72

1   Tiger Woods (USA)   68   65   69   72   274   $1,098,000
T2   Josh Teater (USA)   66   70   73   69   278   $536,800
T2   Brandt Snedeker (USA)   65   75   69   69   278   $536,800
T4   Jimmy Walker (USA)   67   69   72   71   279   $268,400
T4   Nick Watney (USA)   69   68   71   71   279   $268,400
T6   Aaron Baddeley (Aus)   71   72   68   69   280   $204,350
T6   Rickie Fowler (USA)   77   65   70   68   280   $204,350
T6   Robert Garrigus (USA)   72   69   72   67   280   $204,350

T9   K.J. Choi (Kor)      65   73   71   72   281   $146,400
T9   Jason Day (Aus)      73   70   72   66   281   $146,400
T9   Graham DeLaet (Can)   68   70   72   71   281   $146,400
T9   Brad Fritsch (Can)   69   67   70   75   281   $146,400
T9   Bill Haas (USA)      69   69   72   71   281   $146,400
T9   Charles Howell III (USA) 66   72   71   72   281   $146,400

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage