Tommy Gainey closed with a scintillating 60 to come from seven shots behind and win the McGladrey Classic at Sea Island Georgia by a single stroke from David Toms.

Gainey started Sunday in a tie for 29th place, seven shots adrift of tournament host Davis Love III and another American, Jim Furyk. But the man famous for wearing two gloves blistered round the Seaside Course with eight birdies and an eagle on his card, posting a total that none of those following could match.

The unorthodox South Carolina native secured his first PGA Tour victory and will now have a start at next year’s Hyundai Tournament of Champions at Kapalua, as well as his playing rights to the end of 2014.

“Now I can sit here and say I’ve won the McGladrey Classic here at Sea Island,” he said. “And I’m very proud to be in this tournament and very proud to win. And wow, it’s been a whirlwind day.”

Gainey had a putt on the 18th green to post a 59 but it narrowly missed.

“I wasn’t thinking about 59,” Gainey said. “See, all I did all day was just try to make birdies — and a lot of birdies — because when you’re seven shots back, your chances of winning, well it’s not in your favour.”

David Toms also finished strongly, posting an excellent 63. He needed a birdie on the closing hole to force a playoff but he pushed his drive into a bunker and couldn’t make birdie from there.

“I was thinking of what kind of putt I would have before I even hit the fairway,” he said. “You get ahead of yourself and that’s what happens.”

It was another disappointing day for Jim Furyk. He played solidly down the stretch but loose iron shots on both the 17th and 18th holes cost him a chance of victory.

Tournament host Davis Love III saw his chances drown in the water on the 16th. His tee shot there ended wet and he went on to record a double bogey.

England’s Greg Owen posted a final round of 65 to move up the field into a tie for seventh place.

The McGladrey Classic
Seaside Course, Sea Island, Georgia
Oct 18-21, purse $4,000,000, par 70

1   Tommy Gainey (USA)   69   67   68   60   264   $720,000
2   David Toms (USA)   65   67   70   63   265   $432,000
3   Jim Furyk (USA)      66   65   66   69   266   $272,000
T4   Brendon de Jonge (Zim) 66   69   68   65   268   $165,333
T4   Davis Love III (USA)   65   66   66   71   268   $165,333
T4   D.J. Trahan (USA)   66   67   66   69   268   $165,333
T7   Chad Campbell (USA)   66   67   69   67   269   $124,667
T7   Greg Owen (Eng)      64   69   71   65   269   $124,667
T7   Charles Howell III (USA) 66   68   67   68   269   $124,667

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
European Tour –
Bo Van Pelt wins ISPS HANDA Perth International