Trevor Fisher Jnr played a superb final round of 66 to win the Investec Cup by a single shot and to claim the winner’s share of the Sunshine Tour’s R10 million bonus pool.

Fisher Jnr began the final round a shot behind George Coetzee, who was looking for a victory that would secure his place at the Masters. But Coetzee faltered badly with two double bogeys in his round. With those in mind, he did well to post a 71 and take fifth place.

There were five players who might have taken the title, but it was Jacques Blaauw who came closest to denying Fisher. He closed with a superb eagle three to ask the question, but Fisher was up to the task. He made a steady par to win by a stroke. The victory earned him the winner’s cheque for R163,400 but, more importantly, secured him R3.5 million for claiming top spot in the Sunshine Tour’s Chase to the Investec Cup.

“Look, it’s always nice to win, whatever you win,” said Fisher. “Whether it’s a winter event on the Sunshine Tour or a co-sanctioned event with the European Tour. It’s another notch on the belt and it gives you confidence. But this is really life-changing, no question about it. I’m so thrilled to win.”

“It was always going to be tough to win this,” he continued. “I knew I had some quality players behind me and in front of me, so I knew six- or seven-under may not have done the job. I just stuck it out and did my best today, and six-under was good enough.”

Jaco Van Zyl and Keith Horne also finished strongly to close with rounds of 66 and 67 respectively and tie for third spot.

Investec Cup
Millvale and Lost City, South Africa
Mar 20-23, purse: R1,000,000, par 72

1   Trevor Fisher Jnr (RSA)   69   70   67   66   272   R163,400
2   Jacques Blaauw (RSA)   67   73   67   66   273   R117,700
T3   Jaco Van Zyl (RSA)   71   72   65   66   274   R59,950
T3   Keith Horne (RSA)   70   68   69   67   274   R59,950
5   George Coetzee (RSA)   68   67   70   71   276   R42,600
T6   Jbe Kruger (RSA)      68   72   71   66   277   R35,450

T6   Dawie Van der Walt (RSA) 74 70   64   69   277   R35,450
8   Jean Hugo (RSA)      71   69   70   68   278   R32,400
9   Darren Fichardt (RSA)   73   70   66   70   279   R30,300
10   Adilson Da Silva (Bra)   75   70   67   69   281   R28,800

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
PGA Tour –
Matt Every wins Arnold Palmer Invitational