2007 Masters Champion Zach Johnson has won the Sony Open in Hawaii at Waialae Country Club by two shots from Adam Scott and David Toms.

Paul Casey wins Abu Dhabi Golf Championship

Johnson began the round with a one-stroke lead and he maintained that advantage through the round. Toms applied pressure on Johnson with a birdie at the 15th. He was just one shot behind standing on the 18th tee. But Toms found the bunker off the tee then hit the lip with his escape effort. Johnson, meanwhile, had calmly stroked a 5-wood to the back of the green and, when Toms failed to get close to the hole with his third shot, the contest was effectively over. Johnson made a solid two-putt for a closing birdie and a two-shot victory.

“I was hoping to get a victory today, but Zach played awfully well,” said Toms. “He’s a good player and tough to beat.”

Adam Scott climbed his way into a tie for second place with a closing 64. “It was nice to get on the back nine and have a chance, and get the competitive nerves going again,” he said. “I really enjoyed that, and I enjoyed the challenge.”

It was a fifth career victory for Johnson and his second in his last six starts. The 32-year-old was delighted, not only with the win but also by the fact it guaranteed his return to Hawaii in 2010. “I get to go back to Maui again,” he said, referring to the season-opening tournament at Kapalua for PGA TOUR winners from the previous year. “And Oahu. Starting your year in these two destinations is pretty awesome.”

18-year-old Tadd Fujikawa, who was bidding to become the youngest ever winner of a PGA Tour event, began the final round two shots off the lead but the Hawaiian struggled during the final round for a three-over-par 73. “It was a great week. I learned a lot from it,” Fujikawa said. “I qualified, I made the cut, I put myself in contention. If I can keep doing that, everything will work out.”

Sony Open in Hawaii
Waialae CC, Hawaii
Jan 15-18, purse $5,400,000, par 70

1    Zach Johnson (USA)    69    65    66    65    265    $972,000
T2    Adam Scott (Aus)        71    66    66    64    267    $475,200
T2    David Toms (USA)    70    66    65    66    267    $475,200

4    Charles Howell III (USA) 67    68    67    66    268    $259,200
T5    Brian Gay (USA)        66    67    68    68    269    $205,200
T5    Kevin Na (USA)        72    65    66    66    269    $205,200
T7    Steve Marino (USA)    68    67    70    66    271    $174,150
T7    George McNeill (USA)    69    68    65    69    271    $174,150

T9    Bill Haas (USA)        68    71    65    68    272    $145,800
T9    Webb Simpson (USA)    66    68    70    68    272    $145,800

T9    Boo Weekley (USA)    66    69    67    70    272    $145,800

Note: Players in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only