Golf Monthly has again joined forces with Foremost Golf, The UK’s Largest Golf Retail Group, to recognise some superb performances in another vintage year for golf. This is your chance to vote for the best of the best, with £800 worth of Foremost vouchers to be won.

In addition to three categories celebrating top performers in the world of elite golf we are inviting your nominations for Club of the Year. The winning club will be one that has achieved much in the past 12 months.

It could boast a raft of impressive playing achievements by individual members or club teams, it might have raised a lot money for charity through events or perhaps bucked
the economic trend and recruited lots of new members.

The winner of this very special category will receive a special trophy, £500 worth of vouchers for the Junior Section to be used at any Foremost Golf PGA Professional’s store and will be featured in a future issue of Golf Monthly.

The Nominations

Golfer of the year:

Ernie Els: in the golfing depths since his last tour victory in December 2010, he retuned to prominence with a fourth Major win at the Open Championship.

Rory McIlroy: allayed fears over his form with a scintillating, record-breaking victory at the USPGA Championship.

Louis Oosthuizen: set the tone for an impressive season by defending his African Open title in January, before a Masters play-off loss and victory the very next week in Malaysia.

Roger Chapman: Won two Senior Majors in an astonishing season, dwarfing the one European Tour title he managed in 20 years as a member.

Melissa Reid: Won praise and admiration by triumphing in Prague; her first start just weeks after the tragic death of her mother in a car crash.

Carly Booth: Heads the 2012 LET Order of Merit at the tender age of 20, winning two tournaments in her first season as a professional.

Shot of the year:

Ernie Els: Tee shot at 18th hole, Open Championship, R4, Royal Lytham. Hit a perfect drive between the fearsome bunkers to set up a closing birdie and subsequent Major triumph.

Rory McIlroy: approach to 2nd hole, USPGA, R4, Kiawah Island. Perfect pitch from the trees after a wayward lay-up to set up a hugely significant birdie.

Danny Willett: Approach to 18th hole, BMW International Open, R4. Found the water-
protected green with a 3-iron from under a tree to set up a first tour win.

Louis Oosthuizen: Approach to par-5 2nd, The Masters, R4. Recorded the second albatross in Masters history with a sublime 4-iron that pitched on the front of the green and curved round into the cup

Jamie Donaldson: Approach to par-5 17th, Irish Open, R4. Executed the perfect 3-wood to set up a 10ft eagle putt en route to a maiden victory.

Luke Donald: Approach to 15th hole, BMW Championship, R4. His long iron grazed the hole and settled some 3ft from the cup. Epitomised his flawless display.

Breakthrough performance of the year:

Branden Grace: prevailed twice in consecutive weeks in is native South Africa before winning the Volvo China Open in his first season as a full European Tour member.

Julien Quesne: shot a course record 64 in the final round of the Andalucian Open to win his first European Tour title, his previous best finish being a tie for 16th.

Bernd Wiesberger: won his maiden European Tour event at the Ballantine’s Championship
before thrilling his home nation with a closing 65 to take the Austrian Open.

Jamie Donaldson: secured his fist European Tour victory at the 255th time of asking with a nerveless final round display at the Irish Open.

Danny Willett: contended at the African and Malaysian Opens before notching his first European Tour victory at the prestigious BMW International Open.

Matthew Baldwin: has made an extremely consistent start to European Tour life, recording two top 10s and four top 25s already this season.

Club of the year:

This special award is to recognise significant achievements by a golf club. Nominations should be no longer than 200 words and outline why the club should win. Nominations can be from members or non- members of the nominated club.

How to Vote

To cast your votes just send an email to with ‘Foremost Golf Monthly Awards’ in the subject line and your nominations. Please note nominating someone in Local Golfing Legend category is optional.

1. Player of the Year

2. Shot of the Year

3. Breakthrough Player of the Year

4. Club of the Year – please include details of what your club has achieved.

Remember to include your name, address and a contact telephone number.

Alternatively, send your nominations on a postcard to Foremost Golf Monthly Awards, Golf Monthly, IPC Media, 9th Floor, Blue Fin Building, 110 Southwark Street, London, SE1 0SU.

The closing date for nominations is September 28, 2012.

Win £100 of Foremost vouchers

Three lucky readers who have voted will be picked at random and receive a £100 voucher
for any Foremost Golf PGA Professional’s store.

About Foremost Golf

Foremost Golf is The UK’s Largest Golf Retail Group. All Foremost professionals are PGA qualified and therefore ideally positioned to teach golfers of any level, and provide expert advice on what equipment best suits a golfer while ensuring the gear chosen is fitted to the golfer’s swing. To find out the details of your nearest Foremost professional go to