Golf Monthly takes a look at the previous 10 winners of the Open Championship ahead of this year's tournament at Royal Liverpool.

2013 saw Phil Mickelson win the Claret Jug at Muirfield, finishing three under par ahead of Henrik Stenson. Photography: Rob Carr/Getty Images

Ernie Els











The Open Championship was won by South African Ernie Els in 2012 at Royal Lytham & St Anne’s. Photography: Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images

Darren Clarke










Darren Clarke celebrates on the 18th green after winning the 140th Open Championship at Royal St George’s in 2011. Photography: Scott Halleran/Getty Images

Louis Oosthuizen










Louis Oosthuizen shot a tremendous 16 under par to take first place at the 2010 Open Championship. Photography: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

Stewart Cink











Stewart Cink won the playoff against Tom Watson in 2009 to take the winner’s title. Photography: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

Padraig Harrington









Ireland’s Padraig Harrington celebrates with the Claret Jug after winning his second Open Championship in 2009. Photography: Andrew Redington/Getty Images

Padraig Harrington










Padraig Harrington beat Sergio Garcia in the playoff to win the 2007 Open Championship. Photography: Andrew Redington/Getty Images

Tiger Woods











Tiger Woods shot 18 under par to win the 2006 Open Championship. Photography: David Cannon/Getty Images

Tiger Woods











Tiger Wood celebrates his second Open Championship win at St Andrew s in 2005. Photography: Richard Heathcote/Getty Images

Todd Hamilton











America’s Todd Hamilton celebrates with the Claret Jug after winning the playoff at Royal Troon Golf Club in 2004. Photography: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images