We look at last ten winners of the USPGA Championship ahead of the 2015 contest at Whistling Straits

mickelson20052005 – Phil Mickelson celebrates his chip on to the 18th to set up a two-foot birdie chance at Baltusrol in Springfield, New Jersey. He made the putt to secure his second Major title by one shot from Steve Elkington and Thomas Bjorn.

tiger woods-2006

2006 – Tiger Woods won his 12th Major with a commanding five-shot victory at Medinah. Woods started the final day tied for the lead with England’s Luke Donald but a four-under-par round of 68 was more than enough to secure his third USPGA title.


2007 – Woods made it back-to-back USPGA wins with victory at Southern Hills in Oklahoma holding off challenges from Ernie Els and Woody Austin. England’s Simon Dyson shot a final-day 64 to take a share of sixth place at level par.


2008 – Padraig Harrington won his second straight Major with a two-shot triumph at Oakland Hills, California. He became the first European to win the title since Scotland’s Tommy Armour in 1930.


2009 – Y.E. Yang became the first male Asian-born Major champion with a three-shot victory over Woods at Hazeltine. It was the first time Woods had been defeated when he led going into the final round of a Major.


2010 – The last time the tournament was held at Whistling Straits saw Martin Kaymer clinch his first Major with a play-off win over Bubba Watson. The tournament will be remembered for Dustin Johnson being docked two shots on the 18th for grounding his club in sand. He bogeyed the hole and ended two shots behind the leaders.

bradley-20112011 – Keegan Bradley triumphed at Atlanta Athletic Club with a play-off win over Jason Dufner, who had held a five-shot lead with four to play. Bradley became only the second player since 1913 to win on his first Major appearance – the other was Ben Curtis at the 2003 Open.

rorymcilroy20122012 – Rory McIlroy celebrates his second Major win with his father at Kiawah Island. He became the youngest winner of the title since it adopted strokeplay in 1958. His eight-shot victory was also a USPGA Championship record.


2013 – Dufner overcame the disappointment of 2011 to win his first Major at Oak Hill. He equalled the lowest score in Major history on the Friday with a 63 and finished two shots ahead of Jim Furyk to clinch the title.


2014 – McIlroy became the first UK player to clinch back-to-back Majors with a one-shot victory at Valhalla. Four different players held the lead on the final back nine but the Northern Irishman held his nerve to win in near darkness.